Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Stoss Hoody

Hoody warmth made of weather-resisting, DWR- (durable water repellent) treated polyester mini-ripstop that’s insulated with warm-when-wet PrimaLoft® ONE polyester.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Stoss Hoody
Review 1 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byGart
Location: Homer Alasksa
May 13, 2013
I recommend this product for: Work
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
good jacket
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"This is a great jacket. Light, warm, comfortable. It's a straightforward work coat for me, a water-taxi skipper in AK. It stuffs easily when I don't need it, dries fast. The only reason I didn't rate five stars -- there are no cord-stops on the hoody draw-string. I understand that in this price bracket, I shouldn't expect a lot of technical features, but this hood needs a bit of control. Still, I'm very happy with it."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byvonhooeydonk
Location: Enterprise, OR
April 29, 2013
I recommend this product for: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Stoss hoody - a solid everyday outer layer
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"I bought the Stoss so I didn't have to join the ranks of my friends wearing brightly colored down or microfiber jackets. It has some of the same desirable qualities - water resistant nylon outer layer w/ water resilient primaloft inside. The jacket is a nice weight and fits well (I bought one on the larger size to allow layering underneath). tAfter wearing this jacket a few weeks my main complaints are: outer pocket zipper gets caught in fabric; pull strings for hood require tying and don't work so well; no draw strings for tightening jacket at waist or collar."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byRLRLRLRLRRL
April 28, 2013
I recommend this product for: Travelling
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great light jacket
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Super comfortable and stylish. A bit lighter than anticipated but still very good. Wore it on my vacation to Iceland and worked well for pretty much everyday and for the days it rained."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted bycondor83
Location: goleta, CA
April 10, 2013
I recommend this product for: Relaxing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great for travel
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Got this jacket a few days before a weeklong trip to colder temperatures. It packed up small, easily sliding into my carry-on, and provided a lot of warmth when I arrived. Stylish too. I ordered the XL (I'm somewhere between L and XL on almost everything) and the sleeves are maybe a tad-bit long, but definitely not a major issue. Love it."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byryanr33
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
April 6, 2013
I recommend this product for: Travelling
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
excellent fit
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"this is a great hoody. not at all bulky but extremely warm; if i layer correctly underneath i can be warm in this thing at 25 degrees.
make sure to order the correct size though. i'm 6'2" 210 lbs. and initially went with an XL which turned out to be too big. i returned it and got a large which i was afraid wouldn't fit my frame but as it turned out a L fit PERFECTLY. i'm very happy with the overall comfort and fit of this jacket."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byBolo
Location: Nashville, TN
March 30, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Poorly finished
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"Both the Hoody and Regular version are a great idea with a shoddy result.
Ordered both.
Loose threads and poor work on button holes.
Not a good effort by Patagonia
My first really bad impression
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byHenway
Location: Anchorage, AK
March 23, 2013
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Just right for spring
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Light weight and insulation are just right for springtime walks, and it looks good for a night out on the town. Zippered pocket is nice for phone."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byEltoo
Location: Austin, TX
March 23, 2013
I recommend this product for: Relaxing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Versatile, lightweight, functional
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Nice alternative to the nano-puff. Similar weight, water repellency, compressability and warmth. Differences: slightly more robust exterior ripstop fabric, extra zippered external pocket (although oddly placed), handwarmer pockets not zippered, no waist synch chord. Like the nanopuff, regular cut and therefore a bit too boxy for my preference (hood is slightly floppy too), but it does accomodate extra layers well. I prefer this around town over the nanopuff as it less technical in appearance and thus more versatile in usage."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byFarOut
Location: Bluff, Utah
March 23, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Guide's choice
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Just returned from guiding first backpack trip of the spring. I replaced my well-worn Nano hoodie with the Stoss Hoody. I like the fabric and the extra zip front pocket. The front pocket zipper flap frequently catches in the zipper. It would be nice to have a better adjustment on the bulky hood; I put cord locks on the "fabric" draw cord and that eliminated tying. A waist draw cord would be another nice touch. Beyond my small complaints, this jacket is a keeper and is going back out on the next trip - tomorrow."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byPatagucciphile
Location: Portland, Or.
March 23, 2013
I recommend this product for: Relaxing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Stoss Hoodee
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Perfect for eating dinner and watching TV. Very warm and comfortable."
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byAnonymous
February 21, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good, but
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"Hood strap on one side was stitched where it was not supposed to be, rendering hood unadjustable. If had not bought on sale would be seriously POd. Otherwise great"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byHappyMacy
February 7, 2013
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Warm and Light
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket is very warm and very light. It looks great on me, too. My only complaint is that the hood falls down easily. Could you add some weights to the hood, maybe?"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byStarchie
Location: Conover, WI
January 18, 2013
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A good choice
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Very light and still warm enough with a fleece mid-layer for anything over 25 degrees. It is a good length and the hood is quite useful. The sleeves are long for me, a problem I've had with other Patagonia garments, but otherwise the medium fits my 5'9", 160 lb. frame just fine. Another plus is that it uses the same insulation as some more expensive Patagonia garments."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byOttomatk
Location: Kansas City, MO
October 16, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Jacket
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Fits pretty true to size, is very comfortable, and looks great. It's warm, but you'll need to layer if you plan to be comfortable below 40. Breaks wind well, too."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted byridewithgarrett
Location: Denver, CO
September 30, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Hoody
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Great piece of clothing. Fits on the large side, I'm 5'10", 165 pounds and the small is almost big on me. It's very warm, it almost seems as warm as a down sweater, but I haven't used it below 40 yet. Looks great and is a nice alternative to many of my other favorite patagonia jackets. A little slimmer fit would be awesome, but that's not a complaint, it's a great product!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M's Stoss Hoody
Posted bySkibunnyAK
Location: Girdwood, alaska
September 18, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
my hubby loves it and looks good in it
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"my hubby wears this jacket a lot and he loves it. He says that this jacket keeps him warm is light and durable. We visited Denali national park this last weekend, he wore this jacket all the time, stayed warm and happy."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.