Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Powder Bowl Jacket

Reliable waterproof protection for the enthusiast who likes to lap it dawn to dusk, first chair to last; made from recycled materials.
Average Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Review 1 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byRalphxp
Location: New York, NY
January 7, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Fabulous jacket. Wore it on cold days in Stowe (and that's cold!) with just an R-3 fleece and capilene 3 mock turtle - in great comfort and warmth. Sufficient and well-placed pockets, good protective collar, hood works well over helmet. Good looking jacket.
Wife has same jacket, same satisfaction.
One minor quibble. I wish that the outer fabric was a bit more pliable.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byjwo3
Location: San Francisco, CA
December 27, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
small hood issues, otherwise perfect.
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I was deciding between this jacket and the Marmot Mainline. I got them both in black. In pictures, they look almost exactly the same and are in the same price range. I compared them side by side and the quality of construction of the Powderbowl won by a landslide. Clearly Patagonia paid a lot of attention to detail for this one. The same cannot be said about the mainline - but that's for another review.
Powderbowl Highlights: the material is very durable/high quality construction. It's a little thicker than the average shell. This also makes it a little heavier, but its worth it. I've been wearing it on the cold snowy and windy mountains of Wyoming for the last week and the thing is completely windproof/waterproof. Additionally, the material has a nice stretch to it, which increases its comfort quit significantly. A nice plus of the material is that it is anti-wrinkle, so I've been able to throw it in my pack on milder days and been able to take it out the next day looking brand-spankin new.
The pocket zippers are firm but open smoothly and with one hand - which certainly isn't always the case with pockets that are [tape?] sealed for water protection.
The extra high collar and I have a love-meh relationship. For an otherwise beautiful jacket, it looks a little funny for more casual wear, but this "uniqueness" is oh-so-worth it when you're out on the slopes or snowshoeing up the side of a mountain. I used to wear a turtle fur on colder days but its not necessary with this jacket. your neck, chin, and mouth are completely protected.
Downsides: Two points that are not my favorite: I'm 5-8 and 155 - a very normal weight/build for my height. The small fits me really well in the arms, neck, shoulders, and chest (especially with the stretch in this jacket), but the powder skirt around the waist seems to be made for a tinier person. It makes me wish the skirt was adjustable and/or removable.
The hood adjustments could use a little improvement. There are two adjustment points on this hood 1) on the back of the head to reduce the overall size of the hood (in case you aren't wearing a helmet, etc) and 2) cinches around the front that adjust the cord going around the front of the hood, reducing your face's exposure to the elements. i have a few issues with these two points of adjustment:
1) the back adjustment doesn't adjust as much as i'd like. I'd like to be able to shrink the hood even more to get the hood to fit around my head tighter. I've got a big head, so I can only imagine other people have this issue. Additionally, the rear adjustment clasp is a medium-sized hard plastic piece. When I sit outside with the hood on and rest my head back, the plastic piece juts into the back of my head. Not very comfortable.
2) The soft cinches on the front (which are not the same as the hard one on the back) don't generate enough friction and begin to slip. As a result, the opening gets bigger and your face gets hit with the elements more over time. This is especially true when wind is blowing. I wish they'd use something more sturdy in the front (such as the hard plastic adjustment found in the back) and use something softer in the back.
Overall:
Besides the hood adjusters which need to be...adjusted - and my continuous issues with patagonia sizing - this jacket is flawless. I have yet to use it in rain, but every indication is that this thing is bombproof.
Small aesthetic note: for the black powderbowl, the picture almost makes it look like it has silver zipper linings. it's not though. its black reflective lining. Black on black awesomeness. It's still beautiful, but I was a little surprised when I first saw it in person. "
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bycbjohnson81
Location: Breckenridge, CO
November 26, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
VS. Primo
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I was debating for quite sometime over this and the Primo. Considering weight, waterproofness, and fit. Im 6'2", 215lb, and got a large. perfect fit, not too baggy in the chest/waist, and the sleeves are perfect length. i put off alot of heat so all i was planning on layer underneath is a vest over a longsleeve and baselayer. great combo and im not worried about the extra weight. like the detachable hood and extra pockets. great choice, highly recommended! "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byAlohaEd
Location: Queens, NY
November 17, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great product
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Just bought this in Mustard. Very beautiful looking. Can't wait to ski in it. However, as most reviewers stated, this runs large. I am 6', 215lbs, 39" waist and broad shouldered and chested. For most of my jackets I wear XL, a couple of others XXL. I was swimming in this and the collar coverd half my face and sleeves too long. I went to a store and exchanged it for the Large. A bit snug at the waist, but now a better fit. And still roomy at the chest and had great arm movement. This was with wearing their R1 Fleece underneath. The only complaint I have is that the HUGE hood is made for helmets. Even with the synch cord tight, it flops down over my eyes. But other than that, plenty of pockets, great material, comfortable, etc. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bysierraskier
Location: Califormia
November 3, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Have yet to use this jacket for skiing, but have worn it some in poor fall weather. The cut and fit are excellent - I'm 6'2 180 lbs. I love the placemenet of the pockets. The collar is high, but I think it will be great at keeping my neck warm when the cold wind starts blowing snow . My only suggestion is for elastic gussets at the wrist openings to keep wind and elements from going up the arm. The sleeve opening has velcro, but I prefer the cleaner look of an open, slightly loose sleeve over my gloves. pressing and pulling apart velcro all day to take off gloves is not ideal. "
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bybryantp
Location: Denver and Tokyo
October 12, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A great approach
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I've been getting cold and I was tired of it. So, rather than the traditional shell with zero lining, I bought this jacked with just a very thin lining. It makes the all the difference in the world and I can wear less underneath and gain mobility. I was even warm at Breckenridge.
It also breathes very well. Honestly, I wasn't sure Patagonia could make something this waterproof and still breath this well. It breathes better than shells I have made from the leading company in the waterproofing field (starts with a G).
Finally, it's environmentally friendly. We need these jackets because we love nature. It's time to take care of what we love. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byGregS
Location: Boston, MA
September 20, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
just get it!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" So let me start of by saying that I bought the Primo jacket originally. I was sort of so-so about it, and it actually didn't keep me very warm. It was quite thin, although I guess it was meant to be "lightweight" or something.
Returned it and got the powder bowl instead. I'm about 6'4'' 180 and the medium is actually just right for me. I will say that the collar is a blessing and a curse. It's reeaally high, and can be annoying. That being said, I don't wear a neck warmer anymore cause this thing goes over my chin when it gets cold.
Another thing, so much warmer than the Primo. This, an R2 and a t-shirt and I am fine.
Plus, if it EVER breaks (which I highly doubt) you can take it into the store and they'll just give you a new one. It's a lifetime investment!
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byJT123
Location: San Francisco, CA
August 29, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Shell
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I'm 5 9" about 175 and the Men's Medium fits me well. I'm able to wear a base layer and up to a 200 weight fleece beneath this jacket without feeling restricted. Anything bulkier than that would be a problem, so if you run cold you might want to consider the size up. I like the tall collar, good for hiding your face behind in the wind. The hood fits a helmet well, but not your head that well. So not a great rain jacket, though so far completely water proof. Used it recently cat skiing in Chile in conditions that are best described as variable, and our guide was wearing the same jacket. "
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byfreeheeltim
February 18, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Bomber Jacket!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This jacket is bomber! It is made of a solid material that holds up to all that Vermont conditions can throw at it. The pockets are large and plentiful with lots of room to store everyting from Cliff bars to a radio and beacon. The hood fits perfectly over a helmet and best of all, it's recycled!!
Thanks from VT!
"
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bykailas
January 20, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
GREAT
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Used jacket first night for 2 hours in steady rain, went in, gave the jacket a shake, and it was dry---amazing. This week 6 degrees and with
layers, it was very comfortable. Runs little tight with layering in real cold temps, but all in all a super piece.
"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bydoctorhungus
January 19, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
mpbj
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" bomber solid. covers a very sizeable range of conditions. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byephi379
January 15, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Jacket for Anything
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" 1/15/09; I just got this jacket yesterday and so far it has exceeded my expectations. The material feels like a soft-shell with the slight stretch and the overall wear feels very comfortable even with just a t-shirt on. Very breathable and so far, haven't felt the harsh sub-freezing winds when this is on. I usually wear a small-med shirt, and I ordered a MED jacket, and it fits perfectly. Hood has PLENTY of room for a helmet, and the detachable feature is nice.
In all, a very mobile, yet solid jacket.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byspuge
January 13, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Over-all
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I love this jacket. It is made of a heavy enough material that it doesn't flap around when motoring down the mountain. The pockets are great. I know some people complain about the height of the collar but I can finally protect my face on the lift for the first time ever.
Thanks from Colorado
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bySonnyM
January 9, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Ski Jacket Yet
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" The perfect jacket when combined with a fleece layer or without when the temps rise above freezing. Plenty of pockts, yet not bulky. "
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byP8X4
December 29, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great New Coat
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I love the Powder Bowl Jacket. Warm in blowing snow, easy access to pit zips when hiking with a gloved hand. Pockets that aren't too big so you don't overstuff your coat. You need pants with a high cut waist for the powder skirt to cover but fit was great for 5'10", 170 lbs. Adjustments on hood are versitile but haven't used a helmet. "
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byMouse
December 28, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Solid Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" The only thing that I would change with this jacket is the fleece around the collar. It seems to collect snow and ice when the weather gets dicey. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted bygoldy
December 27, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
a great choice
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Powderbowl jacket has been tested in Colorado mountains in heavy weather on and off piste and performed superbly. Excellent fit, good assortment of useful pockets. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byAASIboarder
December 1, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
BEST JACKET EVER
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" i absolutely love the powder bowl jacket.. very well made, incredibly waterproof, fits well over layers, awesome color! cannot say enough good things about any patagonia product! "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byjaxstraw
November 30, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Streamlined, Bomber Shell !
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Love the jacket ! Very waterproof and windproof. Well fitting. Sleeves seal well, as does the powder skirt. Pockets are well located and functional, with the following exceptions: NEED LARGER ZIPPER PULLS ! And electronics pocket is hard to reach with gloves. I do really love the integrated skipass loop in the bicep pocket . "Helmet compatable" hood works well, keeping on while at speed. It could be just a bit larger . . . Slightly stretchy fabric is a big comfort bonus . . All in all, a great choice for a shell for skiing. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M's Powder Bowl Jacket
Posted byTeleGuy
Location: Yosemite, CA
November 17, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Bomber, Beautiful and Bold
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" Great jacket. Durable, warm, waterproof and windproof! Nothing gets in. Pockets are all great. I've skiied groomers, off piste, powder and trees in this jacket. It's excells when the weather is at it's worst. Unfortunately, it is very heavy. I bought my jacket 2 years ago. Patagonia may have improved weight and sizing. I'm 6-1" and relatively slender. The medium is too small in the arms and the large is a bit big in the chest and stomach. It would be nice to see Patagonia tighten up the sizing if they have not done so already. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>