Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Primo Down Jacket

Our top run - the Primo Down delivers plush 700-fill down warmth, and 3-layer waterproof reliability. It's a durable, waterproof Down Sweater for the skier and rider who wants it all.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Primo Down Jacket
Review 1 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted bySnowHealer
October 8, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
BEST Cold Weather Jacket Around
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I am a National Ski Patroller located in Western NY and wanted a jacket that I could use for general skiing, hiking and pleasure that would keep me warm and dry in the coldest, nastiest conditions without the bulk (and still look "trendy"). I've found that this jacket is SUPERB for temperatures at or below 35 degrees....I've had this jacket in minus 25 degrees in the Adirondack Mountains with 30 MPH winds, and was comfortable without ANY additional layers other than midweight thermals. The wind & warmth protection is UNSURPASSED. The ZIP pits also provides needed flexibility in changing conditions. You can't find a better NASTY weather jacket....period! Worth EVERY nickel...this coat will last me & you a lifetime! Tired of being cold & wet, BUY this coat!"
+40points
46out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Aspen, Colorado
January 7, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
excellent all around jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"It's not just for skiing! This coat is perfect for around town too. It's not so heavy and bulky as to feel stifling on or off the mountain. It's stylish so can be a good alternative for cold nights out. Excellent buy!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byryergti
Location: Canandaigua, NY
December 16, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Page 3 My Turn
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"As a Ski Coach, PSIA Instructor and National Ski Patroler totaling 35 years on the hill I know a little bit about whether or not a piece of equipment works as intended. This Jacket is sweet! Skied in it half a dozen times at 0 deg and above with wind chill at -15f. 20MPH winds and skiing at 20MPH in a micro-fleece lg sleeve and just the jacket. had to open the pit vents to cool off!! Hey is that 40MPH wind speed?? Thats like windchill of -29f !!
The only thing that could be changed is the hood is a little to small to go over a ski helmet. But I can work with that."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted bybusterbronk
Location: Indianapolis, IN
November 24, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The Best
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I bought this jacket last year and I cannot say enough how great the primo down is. The Primo is the best Patagonia has to offer (hence the name) and it is the truth. You won't find a warmer jacket better suited for cold conditions. The jacket is perfect for anything you through at it. Snowboarding=perfect. Walking around a cold city=perfect. The shell is waterproof and breathable. I never get too hot in this guy unless i'm doing some intense physical activity. I also wore this jacket a lot on campus with nothing but a long sleeve thermal underneath. No need for layering if using for daily use. This is the jacket of all jackets. I actually like the selection of colors from last season a little better but that's just my personal opinion. The only thing that I think should be changed about this jacket which they may have for this season but the main pockets for your hands only have mesh netting on the inside of the jacket and without gloves the hands can get cold. Other than that this jacket is the Best. Let's not forget to mention how stylish the jacket is too. It looks great and for a down jacket is very form fitting and not bulky at all. Buy it and enjoy it!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byTrex
Location: Traverse City, MI
November 3, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Jacket!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This is a fantastic jacket. I've been a skier my whole life and this is the best jacket I've owned. I primarily ski in the Midwest where the temps can drop below zero for days. This jacket is WARM and it keeps me dry when we get those wet snows or rain. It's basically an awesome H2no shell with a down sweater liner(see my down sweater review). If you are looking for a jacket that will keep you warm and dry in any winter weather, this jacket will do it! It is worth every penny. Nice job Patagonia."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byNordski
Location: TWo Rivers, WI
October 30, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A coat that does it all
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"When looking for the perfect canoe or bike one usually has to settle for a hybrid. You usually end up with something that is mediocre and doesn't do anything well. This coat is a contradiction to that premise. Its lightweight, windproof, waterproof, and warm. Its the perfect coat for the shores of Lake Michigan in Northeast Wisconsin where I live and play."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byLazyHiker
Location: Gresham, Oregon
December 27, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The Mink Coat of Skiing Jackets
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I doesn't seem any warmer than a Titanium shell with a separate Polartech lining but it sure is a lot lighter and easier to move around in. They should re-enforce the shoulder area with something (??) because it hurts to carry my Vokyl skis on my shoulder since the down compresses. I love the way you can reach into your pockets and tighten the waist band and/or the powder skirt. Hood doesn't fit over my Giro helmet, only halfway which ain't that great. Gonna look for a smaller helmet because the jacket is definitely rainproof. Cuffs are great: big enough to fit over your gloves or velcroed down to fit under your gloves. Lots of pockets, gotta get used to their positions. I have a beef with the front zipper's last 3 inches or so. It takes two hands to get up to the end because of the krinkle effect in the neck area. The closed jacket goes really high and can actually cover your mouth and nose but you gotta take off your gloves and do it with 2 hands. Could be the nature of the beast for having such a good lower face fit, there might be no way to make the zipper smoother. Wish the hood fit over my helmet. . . ."
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byskimommy
Location: Waitsfield, Vt.
November 17, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
awesome jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"A friend who purchased the primo down jacket recommended it to me. I took his word and bought it. I love it! I have been in Nakiska, Alberta this week in high winds and the primo down has been fantastic. It's warm, waterpoof and the fit is great. I'm sure it will remain warm in the cold winter of Vermont, which is inevitable. In turn, I would recommend it to anyone."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byhozkaya
Location: Jersey City
October 2, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best jacket ever
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Got the primo down last year during ski season. Went to Vermont at 9 degrees F with high winds wearing a few light layers underneath, and never got cold at all. Not a bulky jacket, very light and doesn't restrict movement at all. Has a really nice fit. In fact, it is so stylish that I got compliments from many people saying my jacket was very nice. I also wore it all winter in NYC, in rain and snow with no problem. It does get a bit too hot if the weather is not cold enough. Highly recommended, perfect jacket."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byfrenchy
Location: Cherry Plain, NY
September 23, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The Ultimate
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket seamlessly incorporates all the qualities one would expect of any quality apparel companies flagship ski jacket. Warm almost to a fault, I have not once been cold in this jacket which is saying something as I used this jacket 70+ times last season. While the jacket is to heavy for temps above 25 degrees (resort skiing only, needs to be much colder to be used in the backcountry) if it should be soaked in sweat, it dries much quicker than would be expected of such a heavy jacket. Having said that the jacket is absolutely bomber which is a must if you spend a significant amount of time in tight trees and if the temps do rise unexpectedly the jacket will keep you dry as long as your not exerting yourself. Also the insulated hood is a lifesaver if you have a big head like me and your hats are always inching up over your ears."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byCORockies
Location: Colorado
August 20, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This is a great jacket. I purchased it in the fall of 2008 and skied in it over 65 days last season. I used it in conditions ranging from sub-zero temperatures, white-out blizzards, to sunny and sloppy days.
This jacket is ridiculously versatile. I wear only a Capilene 1 layer underneath all season (Dec-March - early and late season I wear just the Primo jacket, same shell without the down insulation). Granted, I stay warm easily but what I'm saying is this jacket keeps me warm with a Cap1 - if you layered at all it would certainly keep the coldest of individuals warm. Also, because I am usually hot, the pit zips are HUGE. They vent the jacket nicely and allow me to stay warm in the cold mornings yet keep me from getting too hot while ripping big lines in the afternoon.
Big pricetags set high bars. Patagonia delivers with its Primo Down Jacket."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted bywera308
March 2, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
More versatile than expected
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I love this Jacket. When ordering I was a little concerned that it would be limited to only very cold conditions. Yes this Jacket is really warm but thanks to the large pit zips it can be comfortably warn to near 40deg f temps. The best range for this jacket is 25-35 deg f. Of course layering will effectively increase the range to lower temps. The fit and finish on this jacket are what you would expect from a Jacket in this price range. The hood is warm and shapes nicely around my head with goggles placed under or over. The collar will fit over my face or remain open with the hood up or down however I want it without being annoying. It is also comfortable on my chin/lips/cheeks. It also sheds water very well.
The Jacket looks great and feels even better! Sometimes you really do get what you pay for.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted bybiker
February 6, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Not Too Warm
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"After reading all the other reviews before I bought this coat, I thought that it was going to be too warm for skiing Mammoth Lakes. Today it is 25 degrees out with a moderate wind blowing and snowing. I thought that I could get away with a R1 pullover with a capaline under and just this new coat, but ended up going back to my truck and also getting a layer of R4 lightweight jacket too. So it definitely isn't too warm. If you want warmer I would probably go with a down sweater and a shell on over that which would even be more versatile. However it is a great coat and is really made well like all of Patagonia's products. A great coat but you just need to know when to wear it"
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byArtnSnoGo
January 19, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cold in ALASKA
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"My friends laughed as I pulled this over priced coat of its box. I kept it anyways, thinking that maybe somehow Patagonia knew what they were doing when they advertised this as a cold weather coat. As the thermometer began to drop so did my confidence, as I felt cold spots in several areas.
Bottom line, if you are looking for warmth in a hardshell you will find it when the weather is 30 degrees above zero. Any thing below thirty you better double up with a real down jacket.
"
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byCanadian
January 15, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
meh.
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"I live in Canada (read: minus 30C for weeks at a time). Two problems with this jacket: the insulation fill is hardly anything - my sweaters are warmer. Secondly, inside liner is leaking down, from the first time I wore it. I guess Patagonia doesn't have the quality control they used to. I'll keep it, but only because it's a complete pain to return it from Canada."
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byMNBadger
January 6, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I'm a wuss. With that said....
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This is best coat I have ever found.
I have been looking at this coat for over a year (didn't realize that Patagonia only sold stuff in season) and purchased the 2008 version in November. After doing all my research there isn't a better coat on the market.
Back to the wuss part. I live in Minnesota and hate the cold (brilliant choice to live here then I know) and needed a coat that I wouldn't get cold in. This fits the bill. Last week it was a high of -3 degrees Fahrenheit with a windchill of -25 and I went outside (stupid yet again). Surprisingly enough I even shocked myself when I stayed warm when I was outside for over 15 minutes. I wouldn't recommend that as my legs were freezing.
Perfect construction as with most Patagonia products. The only design flaw is that the hood doesn't sit down very well. I will gladly deal with this since the hood is insulated (another great addition to the coat).
For all the wusses out there, this is the coat to stay warm."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byFrog
December 26, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"One of the best jackets i have ever owned, definatly worth the price. At first when i got it i thought it might be too light but i have been outdoors in 15 degree weather all day and be perfectly fine with a light sweater on under it. The outter layer is extreemly durable and unlike most down jackets you dont have to worrie about tearing the jacket up."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted bychitown67
December 19, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Awesome Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I bought this jacket after investigating all of its features. This jacket is very weatherproof. I do not use it for skiing or mountain climbing. I use it for everyday use in Chicago. The one thing I did notice is that I was expecting it to be very very warm after all the reviews. Well last week it was 10 degrees in Chicago and I was wearing the jacket in the yard while I had the dog out. It was a bit cold, I was confused since I heard how warm this jacket is. I spoke with several people and was told this jacket is made specifically for "technical" use.. ie lots of activity.. So when constantly moving, it does stay very warm. If standing still, you might feel a bit of the chill at lower temps. To solve this issue, I bought The patagonia R3 fleece (breathable fleece). When I put that on as an underlayer to the Primo Down Jacket, everything was awesome and toasty again. So if your not working up a sweat and moving alot, just throw an underlayer on and all is good. This jacket is great. When I am moving around and being active, I definately do not need an underlayer. Great jacket and very stylish."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byecogeeko
December 19, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Worth It
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"When I first got this jacket, I was afraid that it wasn't going to hold up to the weather because it is so lightweight but wow was I wrong. This jacket is extremely warm and perfect for boarding or just walking around in the freezing cold. It is hydrophobic!! Water literally beads up and falls right off, even if you pour water onto it. It allows for extreme movability and is very compressible. Did I mention that it looks great too?"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M's Primo Down Jacket
Posted byStayathomeDad
December 3, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Warmest Jacket Ever!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I have had this jacket since last winter - 07 - and found incredibly warm, whether hiking with my kids in 10 degree weather, skiing in all weather conditions, or standing in line on bitter cold nights. The shell is super protective against wet and abrasions, and the 700 goose down ultra-warm. The hood proved very functional for me, providing excellent protect in cold and wet conditions. I found the pit zips fantastically effective in venting heat as temperatures rise. This jacket is super functional for temperatures 35 degrees or less with only a mid-weight capilene. This is definitely my go-to jacket for all kinds of cold and nasty weather."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>