Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody

Our warmest and most breathable synthetic baselayer keeps you dry and comfortable in cold conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Review 1 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byOrangeman
February 19, 2013
I recommend this product for: Skiing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
New Favorite
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Patagonia has delivered another amazing layering piece. The new expedition hoody is the perfect piece for those really cold but active days. I wear a lightweight wool zip-t underneath and a shell over the top and I am good to go. Great when climbing with skins!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byRugerd85
Location: Dallas, TX
February 17, 2013
I recommend this product for: Snowboarding
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Amazing as usual! I wear this same product in a few different styles (with hood, no hood, zip-up). I plan on buying more! Please don't change this style! They always seem to do so."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted bygoforpotter
Location: brooklyn, NY
February 10, 2013
I recommend this product for: Snowboarding
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
great mid layer
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Bought this one size bigger. I wear over a base layer as a light mid layer under a gore tex shell. It's nice, I like the hood, snug enough to fit under a hat ( but it will stretch the had out a little ). I wish it was a little warmer, I think my cap 4 pants are a warmer material (older), but I'm still glad to have it. The best part is how much moisture it wicks, and how fast it dries."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byoutkast
January 18, 2013
I recommend this product for: Snowboarding
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Base
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Took this out snowboarding in Utah. Was way warmer than I expected, so much that I had to ditch the mid layer puff. Very light and so comfortable that I end up putting it on around the house on cold mornings. Stretches and clings to you in all the right ways. Form fitting and the hoodie can slip on under my helmet. When not riding the half zip lets out some heat. Well done again Patagonia."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byBlueoars
Location: MI
January 8, 2013
I recommend this product for: Fishing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very Warm
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This is a great product. I really like the hood which is exceptionally warm. It seems quite durable and can keep you warm, even in Michigan."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byJLHolliday
Location: Charleston, SC
December 14, 2012
I recommend this product for: Trekking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This is a really awesome piece, good thickness for a first or second layer. Very soft and comfortable. The hood is doubled over with the fabric which makes it really a substantial addition to your head."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byNodnarb
Location: Loveland, CO
December 13, 2012
I recommend this product for: Alpine Climbing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Solid Piece
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I bought the Cap 4 to compliment my R1 and have zero complaints. While it's not as warm a mid layer as the R1, it over comes this by being less restrictive and more breathable. I found myself getting too warm in my R1 on sunny alpine rock days this summer and would have been much better off with the Cap 4. Size up one size from your R1.
A great addition to any kit."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byStarvingAlpinist
Location: Reno, NV
October 9, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Simple Perfection
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"As a starving college student whose bank account is rarely over three digits and lives out of a car on breaks and weekends, this shirt was expensive. That being said it is also worth every penny. This is my favorite baselayer for extended alpine accents. If you are looking for a technical baselayer for hardcore backcountry endeavors where ounces count, you couldn't tailor make a better layer. For less involved ventures, however, I would have to recommend the hoodless version simply because I do not find myself using the hood often enough to justify it when I am not doing something fairly involved.
Pairs perfectly with my hand-me-down Mtn. Hardware soft-shell and down sweater for sub freezing 4 am launches.
"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted bySlurrP
Location: Vail, CO
October 7, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Will be purchasing more
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I live in Vail, CO, and this is one of the most useful pieces I own. I can throw it on for a run or can use it to layer when I go ski or by itself when skinning up. I really like the high neck with the hood, it makes it more cozy than a normal 1/4 zip. Love this piece and will be getting more!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byJabin
Location: North Manchester, IN
September 17, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Capilene 4=AMAZING
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I don't know if I've ever been more excited for cold weather. I now know what Peter Parker felt when he first donned the Spiderman suit. The Capilene 4 Hoody makes me feel like a super hero"
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted bySphere
Location: Washington, DC
September 10, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This thing is sick.
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Generally wear an R1 every day from late fall to beginning of summer. With that said, I've been really disappointed with the '11 and '12 R1 hoody update and that dumb added flap near the collar.
This new Cap 4 hoody gets back to the old R1 feel, and is freaking amazing. Zips straight up - no flap - and is comfortable.
Thumbs up."
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Capilene® 4 Expedition Weight 1/4-Zip Hoody
Posted byPatagoniacs
Location: New York, NY
July 29, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Material Ever - Crazy Soft!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I really LOVE this new material - so happy Patagonia went back to the grid lining. It feels amazing with a wool silk weight under it and it packs down to nothing. I sized up on the Zip Hoody to use it as a mid layer (it's like a light weight R1 Hoody). The 1/4 Zip I bought true to size for a base layer."
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.