Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms

Our most breathable synthetic baselayer bottoms keep you dry and comfortable in cool conditions; with Gladiodor® odor control for the garment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
38 of 40(95%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Review 1 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byLpugh
January 12, 2014
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Awesome
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Light weight and warm. Wear them every day under work cloths as well as hiking gear. Hardly know they are even there. Very breathable! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bykayakchica
Location: washington, dc
January 12, 2013
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nice tights
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I like the texture of these tights and they feel slightly stretchy. Thin and fit under other pants well. Good all around. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byAdrienneA
Location: San Juan Islands, WA
January 3, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not durable
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" I've been wearing Capilene underwear since it was invented, and I've always found it to be top-notch. Last winter I retired two pair of lightweight bottoms that I'd worn for many years and replaced them with the new version. The new open-knit fabric is mighty warm for its weight, but sadly it's not nearly as durable as the old material. After only one season the legs are beginning to show multiple holes and runs. I never experienced this with the old Capilene--they wore like iron for years. I will be returning these under warranty, and hoping that the replacements will last longer. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byColdWeatherLover
December 8, 2012
I recommend this product for: Golf
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed in the new fit
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" I'm with MatureWildWoman--the rise is too low for us older customers and either a less generous cut or a shorter length means the leg rises up above my socks when I sit (and stays there when I stand)--two problems I don't have with the ones I bought last year and in previous years. Can we longtime customers (25+ years) who no longer have 20-something model bodies get a "classic fit"? I still love the material and wear these all the time as both a base layer and as leggings under skirts. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byaj3chin
Location: atlanta, ga
November 3, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
nice
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" layer fairly well under jeans. i bought them because i get cold easily. they ride up on the leg a little and can get annoying but i think that's true any time you're wearing more than one layer of anything. i'm not quite 5'3" so i have room to grow into them if i need it. =) i have thick thighs and a little junk in my trunk so i got the med even though a small might have fit. didn't want to take the chance and now i kinda wish i did. also, i like to wear my stuff low rise. based on the picture, it seemed like it would be but it's definitely high on me. =( often, i just fold it down. i'm sure the higher rise will come in handy when it's truly cold and i'm wearing it camping instead of out and about. keeping anyway unless i take the time to order the small just to try for sizing comparison. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byMatureWildWoman
Location: Sonora, Ca
October 23, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
What happened?
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" I've been buying ALL kinds of Patagonia "equipment" for well over 25 years and I'm not happy with the cut. I get that most women are wearing pants that barley cover the hip bones and probably don't want their long underwear to show when bending or reaching. However...there are some of us that have more, shall I say, mature figures and need more room in the seat and length from crotch to navel! When I put the newer version on it, I'm very worried about a serious case of "plumbers butt"! I definitely do like the fabric and leg length but that's it. I hope the folks at Patagonia will go back to or at least have available to purchase the older style cut and fit for those of us who want more coverage! ( I guess I'll keep sewing up the holes in my 20 plus year old ones!) "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bypebblie
Location: Albuquerque, NM
September 6, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This is perfect for early fall bike commute or for hiking. I wear it underneath a Solimar skirt, and it's perfect! I'm 5'2'', and XS fits very well. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byCTT14
Location: Washington, DC
August 25, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect lightweight layer
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This is my second pair of capilene 2 leggings. It's not that they wore out, I just liked them so much I wanted a second pair. They are great for an extra layer on the river or to wear under a skirt while tooling around the city. They dry very quickly and are ideal for travel. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byJCRO
Location: Dirty Jersey
April 10, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Don't know what I did before...
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These are the best long underwear I've ever owned. They're the perfect weight & thickness. The waist band sits at my hips and fit under most of my jeans without making me feel like I'm squeezed into a sausage casing. I own two pair and am happy to have them for the cold season. I would easily recommend them to a friend. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bypetiteone
Location: Cardiff, CA
April 7, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love these bottoms!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Lovely color, nice snug fit, but not too snug. Not exactly perfect for my petite 5' frame, but they work great! "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bylovejoy
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
March 31, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
best bottoms for every season
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I love these bottoms. Combined with the Guide pants in the winter they work, and combined with lightweight pants in the shoulder seasons they are perfect. I own 3 pairs of these. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bytopazmom
Location: Berkeley, CA
March 3, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great leggings but keep waistband out of the sun!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" i bought these because there weren't any more wool bottoms that i liked in my size on sale, and am pleasantly surprised. i thought i had gotten spoiled by wool baselayers but find these to be warm, comfortable, and they don't seem to smell (not sure how they'd be on an underarm though.# i've been wearing them at home since our house is rarely above 58. i'm usually a size 6 but bought a medium because i'm tall-ish and was afraid the crotch might be too short. the medium is perfectly form-fitting, not too short or pulling in any area. i'd recommend sizing up if in doubt. just washed them however, and put them up on the line as we don't have a dryer. seems that the waistband -- well, half of it and the part that wasn't under the clothespins -- is now a much lighter shade of turquoise than the rest. i know some fabrics say to dry away from direct sunlight but it's always so damp around here and i was desperate and wanted to take advantage of a sunny day. it only took a few hours but at least they were hanging inside out. i realize there are cleaning instructions inside #and i do appreciate tagless so much!) but they are impossible to read, and even though we've actually put the symbol "translator" chart on our wall, i'm still too lazy to figure out what all the symbols mean. i just wash everything in a cold, short, delicate cycle and hang to dry, for the most part. anyway, the inner waistband really doesn't show but it did sort of surprise me so be careful if you really care about the color of your waistband. next time i will hang the bottoms facing the other way and arrange the clothespins in such a way that the fading becomes even all around!! "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bybelagal
Location: Zanesville, OH
February 28, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect light layer for cycling
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Sadly there was no winter weather to truly try these out in. Instead they went on a thirty-mile bike ride in forty degree January weather....and they were perfect! If you want a warm, but breathable layer, these are for you! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byRana
Location: Chicago, IL
February 13, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Lightweight Instant Warmth
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" When these arrived in the mail, it was very chilly in my apartment, so I put these on right away. It was like instant warmth!
Since then, I've been wearing them under everything. They fit perfectly (even reaching my ankles--I have long legs so that's a frequent issue) and are very comfortable. The color is pretty, too. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bydogcrazy
Location: Missoula, MT
February 13, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect fit, not too thick
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These are perfect - not too thick, but just enough warmth that they work perfectly on moderately chilly days. Be careful about the sizing - these are form fitting, but once you get the right size, they fit like a glove! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byOlivePickle
Location: Iowa City, IA
February 11, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect except for stitching in one spot
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" I wanted to get a pair of long underwear that I could wear in the 20-40 degree range that would keep me warm without overheating. I have had these for about a month and they are perfect in every way, except the stitching along the front seam is unraveling. There is also a tiny hole along the front seam. I've worn them about 10 times and washed them about 3 times. I have a couple of pairs of Women's Capilene 3 Bottoms which I have had for a year and a half. Both of those are still fully intact. I don't know if I can get this pair repaired for free since I have already worn them quite a bit. Still, I don't think wearing them 10 times should cause them to start falling apart. "
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bysnowleopardess
Location: Portland, OR
February 11, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fab Light Layer
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These bottoms are very lightweight and can be worn under even the tightest of pants, but still provide a great warmth boost. And they are even long enough for those of us with "tall" legs, instead of hitting me mid-shin, like many women's sizes do. Thanks for a great product! "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted byErinKS
Location: Manhattan, KS
February 11, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love these!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I really love these capilene lightweight bottoms. I wear the under jeans on the colder days of winter. They are just enough to block the breeze and keep the cold off. Very cozy! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bySchatze
Location: Watch Hill, RI
February 4, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very cozy
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" I bought two pairs of these pants along with the matching shirts. They are quite comfortable and true to size. I'm a size 2 / 4 and the small is perfect. My only complaint is that after 3 uses I already have a hole one one of the seams. So far the other pants have been fine so maybe this is a quality control issue ? I love the bold colors but would also love to have them in a heather grey and winter white. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for W's Capilene® 2 Lightweight Bottoms
Posted bymajestic1
Location: Lansing, Michigan
January 21, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
She likes 'em
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Bought these for my girlfriend and she says they are very comfy and not bulky. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>