Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

Lightweight Travel Pack

A super lightweight travel backpack that holds everything you need for a day hike or trip to the market and stuffs into its own pocket.
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
35 of 40(88%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Travel Pack
Review 1 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Minneapolis, MN
January 11, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Versatile Bag
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I am a ski instructor who rejects the boot bag, and this little pack is perfect for everthing else. It fits all of my soft goods, helmet, lunch, travel mug and water bottle. I've also used it to carry my laptop all over India for a month. It's a winner! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Goshen, IN
January 8, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Pack!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I purchased the pack for my mom and she carried it with her every day on a vacation in Hawaii. It packed easy - taking almost no space in her luggage - and was comfortable to wear! Great for active people! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byPope
Location: Sanford, NC
November 13, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Lightweight Travel Pack
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" My job requires me to travel over 150 days a year. I carry this pack because of it's light weight, simple design, and that it takes up minimal room. It's perfect for overflow items during air travel, grabbing some items from the local grocery before walking back to the hotel or carrying an R1 pullover, Houdini and a snack while out for a hike. Everyone should have this pack in their arsenal. "
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bytravel4fish
August 23, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
super light
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I love this little pack. I have taken it to Baja, the Yucatan, Belize, Panama and dozens of backcountry trips into the Wind River Mountains. It is not intended to carry a ton of gear, but is perfect to bring along as an organizing bag that can also be used to haul a reasonable amount ot gear once you get to your destination. I use it to haul my fly fishing gear, lures, water bottles, shells etc. without any complaints. I also use it as my stuff sack (along with some extra warm clothes) on backpacking trips, which eliminates the need to carry an extra day pack. I am just about to purchase another one! "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byTravellight
Location: Asia
July 15, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Pack
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This is a great pack for traveling light and you can pack it away in a suitcase without it taking up any room at all. It can carry heavy loads for its size but I don't reccomend it for long or it will dig into your shoulders. Most of the people writing negative reviews didn't seem to know what they were buying, what they wanted or what they needed. I use this pack everyday for carrying a laptop and camera gear and have even used it on military embeds in Afghanistan. It is a simple light weight pack that can double as a stuff sack. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bythorn
Location: Cambridge, MA
July 7, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
perfect if lightly loaded
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" let's be fair: this pack was never meant to haul the kinds of loads I put in it: 1L hydration bladder, Nikon D300 (w/extra lens), my 13" laptop, and so on. I took it to Israel with me last year and I constantly overloaded it. I was miserable. The straps aren't built for more than ten pounds of load, and the foam support won't stand up to it either. But for light hiking or around town (extra layer of clothing, dry socks, first aid kit, point-and-shoot camera, water bottle, and a book or two) it's PERFECT. The pack is rugged, feather weight, and always handy. And it will hold a heavy load if need be for a short trip. Just don't depend on it for more than an hour if you put more than eight or ten pounds in it and you'll be very happy with it. "
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byMoonwatcher
May 29, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great little pack
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Really like this pack. Fits in mty travel bag and comes out when I need it. Only small criticism is that the straps are to far apart at the top so that if I wear it low they tend to ride out onto my shoulders. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byDeniseVR
Location: Kailua, HI
May 11, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not very sturdy
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" I'm disappointed with this pack.
1. The foam insert offers no rigid support for the pack if you load it. So the pack will bow-out from your back if you load it up with more than a book and a beach towel.
2. While lightweight, the fabric does allow the world to see your undies!
3. If using this for travel the top only access means you have to pull everything out if you want to get to something at the bottom.
4. The foam pad is kept in place with a flap of fabric. There is no hook and loop to keep the flap shut and it is open at the bottom except for 2 spots. This foam pad pocket COULD have been useful for travel documents or magazines. But the open flap means things slip right through.
Overall - might be ok for a beach bag (pricey for that) but not a good carry-on travel bag. "
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bysfreezy
Location: Ventura, CA
April 16, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Solid Purchase
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" Got older model 60% off from SAC, and for that price this pack excels. Lightweight, but quite durable. Handled 5 months of treking and travelling in Nepal and India. Packs small within a larger pack when traveling (Though why it's a bonus to invert into it's own little pocket is a mystery to me (Who needs a bag for a bag?)). And it gets just as much use in town. Outside pocket in the back is perfect for maps, travel book, or small hydration bladder. Side pockets just barely fit a 1L Aluminum bottle. Very water resistant. My only real complaint is the lack of sternum strap. With heavier loads the shoulder straps pull laterally pretty hard and pinch in the armpits. A little contour to the straps, or some padding might fix the problem, or maybe I'll just sew a little clip on it. Otherwise, I love this thing. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bySwashbucklingTiffany
Location: Glenwood Springs, CO
April 11, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The Pack of Choice
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This lightweight, well ventilated pack got its initiation at Big Bend National Park. The intelligently placed pockets were the right size and shape for stowing guidebooks, sunglasses, and snacks; the roomy interior easily held a jacket for cold mornings; and the external water bottle pockets were a plus . This pack merits visits to many more parks and peaks. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byMuddymogriffin
Location: Great Falls,MT
April 7, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
First disappointment
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" After 25 years of using Patagonia products of every shape and variety under the sun, this pack is my first disappointment with Patagonia. Purchased the pack by phone to replace a Lowe "Alpine Attack" summit pack that finally wore out after many years of use. Was assured this would be a good replacement. The usual speedy delivery but upon inspection-- no ice axe loop and no sternum strap. Just finished 2 long hikes on Kauai and the lack of a sternum strap is a real problem. Especially if carrying 15 pounds or more or if wearing a hard shell. Shoulder straps slide all over and no means to cinch laterally. Not as bad without a hard shell on but it does rain a bit on Kauai. Minor complaint with the key attachment. A simple snap hook would be much faster and just as secure. On the positive side, the pack is light, with great pocket design and stuffing ability-- just not very functional for real use in the field. "
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byLadybugmama
Location: Austin, TX
March 31, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good for traveling
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" I have the older version and my husband the newer version of this bag. It's durable, easy to clean and the perfect size. The water bottle pockets actually hold full size water bottles (we have put our med. & large klean kanteens in them- although the large one is a tight squeeze). I like the zip pocket on the front of the bag which my older version doesn't have. The size is great for a day trek. My only complaint as others have mentioned is that it doesn't have a chest clip which would help keep the straps in place. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bykodiesmom
Location: long beach, CA
December 13, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
light and compact but not practical
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" I bought this for my husband for our trip to Asia. He said when he sweats, the backpack gets wet and sticks to his shirt.
It was compact to pack in our luggage. I would use this for a big shopping day ^^
"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byhmnm
Location: Boulder, CO
September 12, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent day pack for backcountry trips
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This pack was amazing on a recent 10 day back country hiking trip in the Indian Peaks. It packs down super small, is able to hold everything I would need for a quick peak ascent (all my layers, water, and first aid kit). It also has a few very handy pockets that store ID, phone, etc. The only thing I would have liked to see added to it is a small sternum strap. Overall, it is a GREAT day pack. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byMinnesotaKid
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
August 31, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Light Is Right
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Appearance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Construction
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Craftsmanship
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Value
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" Take the Lightweight Travel Pack for what it is and you will in no way be disappointed. It weighs next to nothing, holds plenty of stuff, has functioning bottle holders that you can reach without pack removal, and enough small zip pockets to keep organized folks organized. Removable foam seat pad? Sure it removes easy enough, I just don't know how often I'd do it.
Personally, I'm looking forward to doing an ultralight, warm weather, overnight hike with this pack. It seems fully capable with a light load. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byranecorp
Location: Oakland, CA
August 28, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great packin
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Appearance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Construction
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Craftsmanship
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Value
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" This is a super handy light weight pack to take anywhere. It feels good on with a load despite it's light construction and performs well under stress. The only thing I would add to it is a chest strap. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byAlpineVegGirl
Location: Denver, CO
August 15, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
One small problem...
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Appearance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Construction
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Craftsmanship
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
Value
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" I bought this pack to use during my summer alpine field work. I love this pack because it I've loaded it with over 50 lbs of gear & books and it was still comfortable hiking several miles on steep terrain with it. The only problem that I've found with it is that in the first week that I had it the drawstring ripped right through the side of the rubber cinch-toggle mechanism rendering the drawstring useless. I thought about sending it back to be repaired, but replacing it with the same inferior mechanism would be pointless. I plan to replace it myself with something a little sturdier because I love this pack and plan to use it for a long time. Other than this one small problem, I think this is a fantastic pack! "
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bymountainbiker
Location: Columbia, MO
August 14, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not so good
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
Appearance
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Construction
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Craftsmanship
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
Value
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" Bought this bag for a trip to Europe and never really enjoyed it. This bag seems perfect for carrying around extra clothes but the lack of structure doesn't allow for guide books, water, etc. to be carried comfortably. It is supper light weight. "
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted byGeorgieACH
Location: San Francisco, CA
July 27, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Bag For Multi-Sporters
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Appearance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Construction
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Craftsmanship
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Value
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" On a typical day before work I pack my bag with cycling clothes, bike lock, work clothes and climbing gear. All this stuff does not fit easily in to a standard, structured backpack with laptop sleeve, etc. This bag is great for the multi-sporter- the lack of structure means it can sit oddly on your back but it can also fit a lot more. Its deconstruction in to a small pouch is great for traveling too. A great bag! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lightweight Travel Pack
Posted bygarcia
Location: Halifax, VT
June 8, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Solid lightweight pack
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Appearance
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Construction
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Craftsmanship
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
Value
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" Overall, this pack is pretty solid. Initially I was concerned that the straps seemed likely to pull out at the top of the pack, but they can easily hold as much weight as you can comfortably carry in the pack anyway. This thing is a no-brainer for travel backpacking trips where you want a daypack to use around town but don't really want to carry a second backpack when moving from place to place. It's really become my go-to pack for around town the last month or so. Docked a star here and there because it's so shapeless that it can be a little uncomfortable when partially full, and because it's not cheap for such a simple piece of gear. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>