Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks

Our warmest, midcalf-length socks for mountaineering, trekking and backpacking in cold conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 37(95%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Review 1 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byftcco
Location: Fort Collins, CO
October 4, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Slippers not socks
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
"I just used these socks climbing mt. rainier. bulky and uncomfortable especially compared to another company's wool socks. they stretched when wet and did not hold their shape. after washing they are more like a pair of boiled wool slippers and not socks"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byCovington
Location: Los Angeles, CA
April 20, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Got cold floors?
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I do, and these socks became a better solution than a pair of slippers. I wear these nearly year round, and they are essential for long hikes or camping trips. Add a pair of Advocates and you have a warm, comfortable, lightweight alternative to moccasins."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Alaska
April 15, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
great sock, seams need work
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"This is actually the 4th time I have returned these socks. The consistent problem appears to be a flaw in the sewing of the toe box, each pair that I have owned have come apart at the seams. Once this manuafacturing defect is corrected, the socks should be rated at 5 stars."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted bySLORower
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
March 18, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Just What I Wanted and Expected
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Let me start with two confessions: I don't climb high mountains in cold weather and I like to pamper my feet. Okay, with that said, these socks are great for wearing on cold days when I don't turn the heater on in my house or it is cold and windy outside. These socks have great a great design that does NOT bunch the toes with extra material and they have been washed many times and still look nice. Bottom Line: outstanding material, design, and warmth on the coldest concrete floors."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byHANSEN
Location: Burlington, VT
February 20, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Extremely warm socks!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"The ultra heavyweight mountaineering socks are the warmest and most comfortable socks I ever have used. I have used them this winter in cold Norway and can absolutely recommend them!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byMountainGirl5
Location: I would choose Patagonia products over chocolate!
February 16, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Super-Great Socks
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I got my husband one pair of these socks and we had to order two more! He has a drawer full of Smarwool but wants to do laundry constantly to clean his new socks! Now, he's requesting another pair! He works as a snow-maker at our local ski hill and is in super-cold conditions. These socks are warm and comfortable. Thanks Patagonia for providing yet another wonderful product that keeps my husband safe and warm!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted bycansail
Location: Jamestown, RI
February 14, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"warmest socks ever"
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"That's what my husband says; he loves these and can't wait for them to go through the wash."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Ravenna, OH
January 17, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Finally !!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Finally a sock to keep my husbands feet warm. He is regularly out in the cold weather (2-25 deg.) and in combination of a bigger boot his feet are toasty. A little pricey but worth it for him."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Milwaukee, WI
January 7, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
They Really Work!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"In single digit temps, with wind chills of 0 and below, these socks will keep your feet warm. I was initially surprised at the price, but they are worth every penny if cold feet are an issue."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted by3DinMT
Location: Montana
November 17, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great socks up, down, wet or dry
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"These socks are a key piece of gear if you are searching for salmon, steelhead, late season trout, mountain goat, or back country elk. Warm, wicking, and comfy. these are my go to socks for adventures after mid-october."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byNaboombu
Location: Charlottesville, VA
November 5, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Warm
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"These are super thick, so you have to be ready with extra room in your shoes!
They keep their own shape, so once you get them on, you know they are on as your heel almost shoots into place.
They are super warm, and feel like you are walking on nice carpet pads when hanging out around the cold floors of an old house.
Did I mention Warm?!
I would recommend the midweight if you are looking for more mobility in the cold.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted bybmoe
Location: Jackson, Wy
October 29, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Real warm!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This is the third pair I've bought, great choice for winter adventures in the Winds or ski tours on the Wapta icefields. Very durable!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byBritishColumbiaBoy
Location: Boston, MA
October 10, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Happy Feet
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Picked up these socks to keep my feet comfortable and warm during the Boston winters. I've used them hiking in stiff boots, kayaking where they get wet, and for lounging around a cold apartment - don't think I'm supposed to dry them but I put them in on really low heat and they come out like new - plus - they don't stink like synthetic socks.
Love em!
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byPort928
Location: Hidden Hills, CA
April 26, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Wader Sock Ever
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"If you want a warm sock for wading, get this. Comfortable, fits great, no sagging, awesome.
Worth is weight in cold water, but equally comfortable when it is not dropping below 40.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byflatcoat
Location: Wayne, Illinois
February 14, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heavyweight socks
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"The sock is good but not as good as a comparable sock that I bought from Patagonia several years ago. It was the same construction but went to just below the knee. The old sock was the best heavyweight sock I've ever owned.
Patagonia needs to bring it back.
"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byNEFlyFisher
Location: Sidney, NE
February 8, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Thick socks!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I bought these for skiing and winter fishing. They are super thick and padded. I'm headed to Washington to fish for steelhead in a few weeks. I expect them to keep my feet plenty warm!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted bycoppertop
Location: Grand Haven, MI
December 28, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Socks for Winter Fly Fishing
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"These are by far the best socks I've ever used for winter fly fishing. I live in Michigan and fish all year long. I've tried other socks- Patagonia blows them away. My only complaint would be exactly as another person wrote earlier- a few years back the design changed. It is more ergonomical- but costs on the durability. My first pair are still going strong-- 10 years later. These are still the best socks on the planet- Thanks Patagonia!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byhuskypup
Location: Walker, Ca
October 20, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best fit
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Best fitting sock I ever wore. Warm and stays dry after stop and start aerobic work as a musher. 6 hours on a sled with no blisters, running and pushing weight of 8 foot sled/equipment plus handling very energetic dogs"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted bySteveo
Location: PA
August 10, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Put your foot into a cloud
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I love them. They were so comfortable that I like to wear them around the house like slippers, oh and they are tough too!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra Heavyweight Mountaineering Socks
Posted byAnonymous
July 3, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"It seems that you have one sheep in each foot....highly recommended!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>