Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

Girls' Down Sweater

Lightweight, windproof and water-resistant, the Girls' Down Sweater is made of a 100% polyester mini-ripstop shell insulated with highly compressible premium European 600-fill-power goose down.
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 27(89%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for Girls' Down Sweater
Review 1 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Banff
August 26, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Don't hesitate - get it, you won't regret it!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This has become an essential layer for my kids, we use it for everything. It's light weight, not bulky (so they like to wear it!), and warm for those Banff fall days or under winter coats. Best of all it also cuts the wind. Get it - you won't regret it - it's my most coveted hand me down!"
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byHNH777
Location: Tuxedo Park, NY
March 9, 2013
I recommend this product for: Trekking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Yes, it is that good
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Having had my daughters in the Better Sweater Hoodies and Snow-Flyer Winter Jackets, buying these seemed a bit of a 'tweener splurge. They quickly became their go-to coats, probably because of their light weight and low profile. Warm enough with a fleece underneath for weather down to the 40's. Very nicely waisted cut for a little girl. Very highly recommended."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byctr5292
Location: Darien, CT
January 19, 2013
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Always happy
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I am never disappointed with Patagonia products. This "sweater" jacket is a favorite of my daughter's (I have one too). We both live in them. It is light weight and trim fitting. Great to wear on its own or layer."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byew123
Location: Boston
April 5, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
good coat, room for improvement
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"I got this in black and in the first week of wear feathers were peeking out of the seams. One of them was sticking out enough it had to be pulled out. Shedding feathers in week 1 suggests there's room for improvement. Also, I wish it folded into an internal pocket as the women's version does.
I might still keep it - I'm on the fence about how much of a problems the shortcomings are."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byBeckyT
Location: Soda Springs, CA
October 12, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great jacket, just wish it came in a hoody version
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I bought this jacket for my daughter and it has been the go to jacket for everyday in winter. I like that it's warm without being bulky and layers well, and not too warm. I have both the regular and hooded adult versions and love them as well. I wish the kids came with a hood, because even when you don't wear the hood, the neck zips up higher and makes it more snuggly. We live on Donner Summit, so deal with some extreme weather up here, and these are great jackets for fall, winter and spring, and even camping in the summer when nights can still be cool. We found it to be very durable and will pass it on when we get a larger size for my growing girl!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted bySusieQ
Location: Nederland, CO
February 25, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Girls Down Sweater
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Love the cut on the Girls down sweater, very flattering. My daughter loves the lightweight down warmth without the added bulk that some down jackets offer. A little bummed that we see feathers leaking out at seams. over all a great buy, my daughter hates having to take it off!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byJanetg27
Location: Mammoth Lakes, CA
December 31, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I bought this jacket for my daughter and she and I love it it's light not heavy , the color is a pretty magenta and it keeps her warm up here in the mountains because we live in the Eastern sierra."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted bySunnySB
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
May 3, 2014
I recommend this product for: Relaxing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great fit & Style
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"I love the fit of this jacket and the fact that it is so lightweight but yet it keeps you toasty on those cool evenings. The only thing I wish they would change is the color to be an actual white. Instead it gives of a grayish hue because the fabric is quite sheer and you can see the feathers through it. Otherwise it would have been 5 stars for sure."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted bysamcakess
Location: omaha, ne
January 14, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great!!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This jacket was purchased for both girls 5 & 8 yr. olds.
The jacket is light and warm from what they tell us and it is breathable enough when they are at school on the playground all the while keeping them warm enough. Sometimes their only complaint is that the wind goes through these a little more than their Retro-X coats. Overall they really like them. Another great product from our favorite outdoor company.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byColette
Location: Medford, OR
January 7, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"We bought this for our 8 year old daughter and she loves it. It's the perfect jacket for her -- warm, but not too bulky. She likes how easy her school backpack fits over the jacket. Plus, she loves the style and color. We will definitely be buying more of these as she grows out of this one."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byJohnO
Location: Casper, WY
January 14, 2013
I recommend this product for: Walking
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"The XXL Girls Down Sweater fit my wife, 5'2 and petite, that was a good deal. She loves it, it has become her everyday wear. Thanks"
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byJimmay13
Location: Hudson Valley, NY
March 4, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Adult yes. Child no.
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"My 10 year old daughter bought this for herself with her own money. I cannot with good conscience recommend this jacket for an active child. The fabric is very high tech and lightweight but it is also fragile. After two weeks she already had scuffs and small holes developing around the cuffs. These occurred while wearing to and from school not while hiking with dad. I discovered by reading through the Patagonia blog that these small holes can be sealed with Crazy Glue which I have done with great success. I have the same jacket and would indeed recommend it for an adult. It requires special care while wearing and when washing. That being said she does love the jacket as I do mine."
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted bykagni
Location: Urbana, IL
March 9, 2013
I recommend this product for: Relaxing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love these down sweaters
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I have two of these now, one adult XS in black, one kids large in coral. I've had the black one for at least 5 years, and love how it feels, looks, and keeps me warm with its 800 down. In Illinois, i hardly ever need another coat My new kids' sweater is also beautiful, but it's 600 down, not quite so warm."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byHtb3
Location: Marin County, CA
December 30, 2012
I recommend this product for: Relaxing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Recommend darker colors
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"This is a great jacket, I bought one in different colors for each of my daughters. I am very disappointed in one thing which is that the coral color clearly shows the dark grey goose feather down through the outer fabric making it looked mottled and dirty. I read reviews that the white version did this but want to warn others of this if purchasing the coral color. The darker magenta does not show the dark feathers. I wish a white feather had been used for the lighter colors, my daughter loves it but to an adult it looks like it needs to be washed!"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byChocoMom
March 27, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nice but see through
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"You can see the feathers inside the white one, and the fabric is not as sheeny and soft as the adult model of this jacket. It's OK though, We got it on sale. My daughter likes it a lot and it's a useful weight of jacket that she wears all the time."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byEllacrowe
Location: Meridian, ms
October 29, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pearl is see through
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"I ordered this jacket for my daughter in the pearl colorway and you can see the down feathers clearly through the outer layer of fabric. If ordering, I suggest you order another color. Other than the color, the fit and comfort of the jacket is GREAT. My daughter loves it....we just wish we had ordered another color."
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted bySLBH
Location: Denver, CO
February 27, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great for adults, too!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Disclaimer: this review is for the girl's down sweater worn by an adult, not a child. I wear a women's XS and a girl's L fits very well (I actually prefer it over the women's down sweater). It's perfect to wear over a couple thin layers, but I would probably want to size up to an XL if I planned to wear it over thicker layers like fleece or bulky sweaters. As reference for any other grown-ups looking to shop in the kids section, I am 5'4" and 105#, and a girl's L is a great fit!"
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byCBCF
Location: Chicago, Il
May 25, 2013
I recommend this product for: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great fall/ spring coat
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"We have bought the same coat for the last 4 years."
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byGmarider
Location: Los Alamos,NM
January 8, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Nice warm sweater with good fitting,but white feathers kept coming out of through stiches of black sweater, had to return it:(! Maybe better with lighter color."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Girls' Down Sweater
Posted byMadjaccar
Location: New York, NY
January 16, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Girls down Sweater
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Excellent purchase-my 11 yr old daughter wears the jacket every day to school and skiing weekends in VT.
It is lightweight, warm, and roomy enough to layer under. An inside pocket and longer sleeves would be my only recommendation.
Minimum feather loss even with regular wear.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>