Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

W's Solid Paries Bottoms

Boy-short-style swimsuit bikini bottoms with full back coverage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
7 of 13(54%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Review 1 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byJunoAK
February 24, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Cute for active swimming/playing bottoms
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I love these bikini bottoms - they are definitely my go to pair when I am doing summer activities (volleyball, snorkeling, cliff jumping, or even just swimming). They stay in place and provide good coverage in the front and the back no matter what. They are super cute, boy-cut but playful, and the side detail gives it a little extra flair/style. I would definitely recommend this to someone who is looking for a good bikini bottom to be active in! I pair it with the Patagonia halter top, looks great! "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted bymariab
Location: Oakland, CA
March 10, 2013
I recommend this product for: Swimming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
so pleased!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" So pleased that I finally broke down and ordered these bottoms. Haven't worn them yet, but they look great on. Very flattering on my body type; I am athletic, 5'5" and 135 lb. but have a short torso, a not-flat belly, and long legs with trim hips and muscular thighs. The low cut makes my torso look long and minimizes the muffin top; the boyshort looks great with strong thighs. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byRubyruby
Location: brewster ma
July 14, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Favorite
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I recently ordered my fourth pair of these bathing suit bottoms. I have been wearing them for the past few years and they are my favorite fitting bottom. I felt the need to write a response because I read through the other reviews and one women questions who these bottoms would look good on and I think (hope I am right) they look good on me and compliment my body type which is curvy and fairly ample. I have always had a flat stomach with ample hips and butt. I am physically fit, 5'7" and 146 pounds. The low front works well for my stomach and the hipster style cuts across my butt cheeks in a sexy way. I like that there is a good amt of material so I'm not "fat man in a little suit" but that it is still revealing and not covering my entire butt. "
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byleenielou
Location: Chicago, IL
May 29, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
well made, but odd fit on me
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" I really wanted to like these. I was looking for sporty with decent coverage, but that could still be worn to the beach, pool, with my two kids. Although they are well made and stayed put while running, playing, swimming, I could not get used to the fit; a little too low and tight across the front. If the Paries were a little higher and straight across in the front, might have worked better. If you are quite fit, go for it, but on my post-baby bod -- less forgiving. S'ok, went back and got the Sunamees (my 2nd pair!) and love them. BTW: I am 5' 1", 107lbs, and petite/active. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byBluePlumeria
May 21, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perfect for an active water sports
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I like these bottoms as they have a little more material than usual bikini bottoms. Great for surfing and stand up paddle. Fit like hip huggers. I hope Patagonia does not discontinue this style as it is perfect. Size-wise, a small works good for me, 5'5", 122 lbs., slim hips. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted bymomof2
May 14, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
weird
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" I'm 5'6 128, ordered a medium. These are not an average boy short, they have a weird fit. They were flattering from the back, but I agree with earlier reviews, they creased oddly in the crotch area and the effect was um, unattractive to say the least. They sat really low on my hips and made me look wider than usual. I exchanged for the ardour bottoms in the same size...they are skimpier but way more flattering. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byspack
February 18, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
boyshorts
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" they have less coverage than you usually expect in a boy short, so keep that in mind when choosing your size "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byRooser
Location: Boston, MA
August 27, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Makes me look like I have Man Parts
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
" I was pretty excited about this bathing suit because I have a short torso and hoped the low cut would lengthen my torso and make me look more curvy, but instead, the side of the front makes it crease funny so I look like I have "man parts". If you look at the pictures of it with the girl on the beach, you can kind of see what I'm talking about. I have to return this. It did fit true to size (I'm 5'4", 115 lbs, very straight runner's body and got an XS). I'm not sure who this would work on. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byFleur
Location: Philadelphia, PA
June 2, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Wish I could love these...
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
" I bought these bottoms in attempt to find some more athletic swim-wear for beach play or swimming laps. I am athletic, 5'10" and a size 8, I ordered these in a Large. While I love the concept of a more boy-short kind of fit, I agree with some of the other reviews that say that the cut of the front is just odd- it does indeed "flip up" and the cut itself is not uniform. The front looks like a boy short and the back looks more like a cheeky pair of underware. However, I was pleased with the fact that while I do have an ample backside, the bottoms did not wedge and it did provide full coverage for me. Overall, the appearance was simply not flattering and I will be returning the bottoms. If the cut was higher on the waist, or if I was more petite and didn't have such a long torso, I think these would look fantastic. Just not for me. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byLaurenne
Location: Bend, OR
May 8, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
awesome bikini bottoms
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These are my favorite bikini bottoms out there-the only ones I wear. They are sporty, but still show some skin. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byTatazina
Location: Honolulu, HI
June 9, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My favorite bikini bottoms
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I live in these bikini bottoms, literally. I scuba dive for work so I wear these bottoms on a regular basis and am very active in them. They've gone through a lot of wear and tear and they haven't broken down at all (a problem I've had with past swim suits). I don't like bikini bottoms that are too skimpy or are too much like shorts so these bottoms are the perfect balance. They're also great for surfing or any other active water sports as they stay on really well. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted bygretchkin
June 4, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
not quite right
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" I agree with the previous reviewer on the odd fit. The front drops lower at the side seam and doesn't lay flat. Scanty back coverage. Might work for someone with bony hips/butt but it just wasn't that flattering on me (I'm a curvy size 2-4 and I ordered this in both small and xs). I have a boyshort style from a couple years ago that is wearing out and really wish patagonia would bring that back! What's with all the skimpy bottoms?!? "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for W's Solid Paries Bottoms
Posted byPrayingforsnow
Location: Columbus, OH
May 28, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
" Odd fit. They hit my legs too low in the front so that they don't lay flat. They don't cover my butt at all in the back. I would say the coverage is minimal not full in the back. I'm a fairly thin person with a bit of a booty. Maybe it fits others better but it was just really off for me. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.