Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe

A fully waterproof, midweight hiking boot built for backcountry travel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.771 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
25 of 35(71%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Review 1 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted bysinter
Location: Minneapolis, MN
October 6, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
boots
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
"comfortable boot but poor sole construction. Slippery and lugs fail."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byAevind
Location: Healy, AK
July 11, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Sole is tearing apart
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"Everything about these shoes is amazing, they fit great after purchasing them online, very lucky. But my first hike out, FIRST hike, one of the knobs of the sole started separating from the shoe, so i glued it back on. A couple more hikes in, two more pieces of the grip start ripping off, and i super glued them back on. I noticed after examining closely that the sole in not sealed entirely to the shoe, only on the edges, so the middle of the grip/sole has now developed a tear in it from too much use, now that i actually need to wear them everyday. The waterproofing has proved effective until the sole failed. And i am not sure if that is Vibram's fault or Patagonia's, or maybe i got a factory defective pair. But i would like another pair if the sole is sealed all the way through and through. Cause it is an awesome shoe aside from that design flaw, they're ergonomic and actually waterproof* and a good consistency in fabric/leather. The knobs for the grip could probably be a little less pronounced though. If you don't plan on any strenuous hikes, this shoe could work for you."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byisoxyl
Location: Fort Collins, CO
January 23, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great so far
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Nomad GTX are holding up great with somewhat light use and remaining waterproof and comfortable. At the moment they are everything I'm expecting from a (rather pricey) boot. Hope they keep me satisfying going forward. For myself, my usual shoe size worked just fine (others have said to order larger--didn't need to for me)."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted bysuperflyrfc
Location: Honolulu, HI
November 20, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
sole-less in bolivia
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased these boots super excited because I love Patagonia and because I was heading for a Summer of field work in the Bolivian Andes. Within 3 weeks of arriving the soles began to wear out badly and I was loosing chunks of Vibram rubber. After two more weeks (of not very strenuous hiking across moderate terrain) I had almost completely worn through portions of the soles on both feet and had to use copious rubber cement for the remaining two months of the Summer. This is my second less than positive experience with the Nomad line and I have decided to never again get hiking boots from Patagonia....unless they do something very different with respect to the quality. Customer service, however, was stellar as usual."
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byhorse
Location: Clyde NC
November 7, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Hiking boot
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Great boot. One problem is the laces don't want to stay tied so it requires double tying the laces. Otherwise a good comfortable boot."
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byRainman
Location: Wausau, WI
October 3, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dry Dogs
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Behind every great foot, is a great boot. This boot has kept my feet comfortable & most importantly dry on some epic hikes in some torrential downpours & unexpected puddles. Also fantastic traction!"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byIVR6
March 24, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not a true trail boot
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"These boots are as comfortable as one could expect from Patagonia - however they do take some breaking-in. The stock laces were a terrible choice by Patagonia; I had to replace mine within the first couple of weeks because they were useless as far as laces go and one of them broke. Also there is a small gap between the outside leather layer and the inner GORE-TEX membrane near the bottom eyelit on each boot which allows sand, pebbles and moisture to get between the two layers. It doesn't take long walking on trail before I notice that a rock has gotten into my shoe and although it is possible to get this debris out, I fear it will soon wear through the water-proof membrane. Bottom line: this is one of Patagonia's many 'trail-ready' products which are actually designed solely for in-city use."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted bystocktontherunner
March 14, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Sturdy and warm.
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I've had these for nearly two years and used them a lot. They are sturdy and stand up to the roughest use. I've taken them hunting through two fall seasons and put miles and miles on them. They have been very solid. Two complaints. The soles can get very slippery when wet. The laces have been terribly weak. I finally found some better laces at the local hardware store. This set of shoes has lasted very well through some rough stuff!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byproffreshie
Location: Boston/Jay
March 2, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Dope
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Bomber, super comfy, warm, add to cart! they run a bit large/wide for my slender, feet with high arches, so I ordered a full size less than my usual street shoe."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byAnonymous
Location: overland park, ks
January 26, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
some concers
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"I have had these boots for several months and plan to use them on a Kilimanjaro trek. I have had two issues with them. When I transition from snow to packed snow they lack grip and can be very slippery. I have had as problem with the two upper hook eyes rubbing my ankle. If I lace them tight for ankle support my ankle gets sore quickly so I have to loosen them. At least for me I need more padding between my ankle and the back of the two upper hook eyes. If I can get them laced correctly they are quite comfortable. They do keep my feet warm and dry."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byFresh
Location: Columbus, OH
January 8, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Boots Ever!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I purchased my Nomad boots about a month ago and absolutely love them! They are so comfortable and warm and perfect for winter! They took a week or two to break in but they are molded to my feet and am very impressed with the quality."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Pasadena, CA
January 6, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Poor quality
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
"I ordered a pair of these shoes from an online retailer. They look great but felt insubstantial when I tried them on the first time.
The second time I tried them on, the strap on the back of the left boot broke as I used it to put it on.
Disappointing to say the least."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byTorino
Location: Charleston, SC
December 3, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nomads Die Hard
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had these boots for about 2 years. Worn 'em in thick mud, sand, loose rock; nothing slows 'em down. Slogged through two feet of snow with these boots (combined with a pair of ultra-heavy weight Patagonia socks) and had toasty dry feet the entire time. The majority of reviewers say these boots are extremely comfortable, and they are absolutely correct. Just take care of the leather and they will last until doomsday."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byBoston
August 5, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Worn under extreme conditions in Haiti
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just put these boots thru the ringer working 7-8 hours a day in a rugged tent city in Port Au Prince. Little to no break in required, true to size, and a sturdy arch are high points. Never had an issue with the water proofing, the Gore Tex breathes even at temps hovering around 110-115. Coupled with the Patagonia reputation you can not go wrong."
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byeheiberg
Location: Los Angeles, CA
June 11, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great boot so far.
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"I purchased this boot in Los Angeles, CA, in December (12/09) when I was working on a TV set. We were working outside, just on the other side of the Malibu mountains, and the temperature was around 70 during the day, then dropped into the high 30’s and low 40’s at night. It also rained, so water and mud were a factor. There weren’t a lot of choices at the store, but I have been very happy with this purchase so far. The boot didn’t need any breaking in, and my feet always stayed dry and warm. Currently (05/10) I am wearing the boot in extremely hot and dusty conditions on set and the boot remains comfortable. I am on my feet most of the day sometimes, and it is every bit as comfortable as my running shoes.
I have no doubt that I am in the minority of users who puts their clothing to the test on a daily basis. To date they have held up, and I am happy with the purchase. Should this change I will definitely update my review.
"
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted bylorto
Location: salt lake city, ut
May 11, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
very satisfied
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"i was initially skeptical of buying these boots because of the 4/5 stars they've gotten, but i bought 'em because of patagonia's sterling reputation and their general appeal to me. basically, i have to say that these are the most comfortable light hiking boots i've tried, and i've tried everything that independent and franchised hiking/camping stores have stocked. these boots are light, waterproof, very comfortable, stylish, and provide good arch support. what else can i say? i'm just really happy i bought these."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Alberta
April 22, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Very Poor Quality! Very dissapointed
Overall Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5 stars
"Already exchanged the boot once and now have to go exchange them again.
The BIG problem is with the upper two sets of hooks. On the first boot both of the upper two hooks broke off when I was tieing my laces. On the second pair the upper hook on the boot came off again when I was tieing my laces.
Also another problem is with the eyelets. They are not securely intact and just dangle.
I am very disappointed in the quality of this boot and also my Patagonia fly-fishing boot because the fabric inside the tip of the toe buckled and is very uncomfortable to wear. I would not recommend any of their products because of poor quality. Pay more and buy something better. As of this experience I cannot recommend this brand to anyone."
-1point
10out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted bybigB
Location: appleton wi
April 7, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
not water proof
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"after wearing these boot 6 times about 40 miles and 3 streams . the first crossing my feet where a little wet only going through 2-3 inches of water .by the 3rd time my feet were soaked . not recommended for outdoor use .. Even when i send them in i will still not use them on a trail at all.."
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byben77c
Location: frisco, co
April 6, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
5 months two pair later
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"These boots were great cause they didn't require much break in. The toe cap came apart from the walking crease now I have two spots on each boot where water now lives rotting away the glue that holds the rest if it on. Plus the wonderful Vibram soles are loose in the heal of the boot making a squeking sound every step I take. This is the second pair the first barely made it a month. Save the earth. First save my boots."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M's Nomad GORE-TEX® Shoe
Posted byrocco
Location: Philadelphia, PA
March 15, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"I love these boots. Great for the few hikes I took before the winter hit. They had plenty of traction and were comfortable with minimal break in. When Philly got hit with record snow the waterproofing stood up to the test mother nature threw at it. I walked everywhere in my Nomads through slush, puddles, and snow and my feet were always bone dry at the end of the day. The only reason they don't get five stars is the design of the lace-up system. They are really hard to get tight."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>