Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

M's Knifeblade Pullover

Combining pared-down storm-level protection with optimal breathability, the Knifeblade Pullover is a highly water-resistant performance stretch soft shell, built with lightweight, moisture-shedding Polartec® Power Shield® Pro fabric.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
20 of 24(83%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Review 1 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byPGyaker
Location: Pacific Grove, CA
March 22, 2014
I recommend this product for: Paddling
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
ISO 1/4 zip shell
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"I'm a big fan of quarter zip shirts like Patagonia's R1, and I've been looking for a shell to go over that for times when wind and rain demand a little more cover. I thought I'd nailed it when I discovered Pats Kinifeblade top, but no dice. Sleeves were plenty long, which I like, but over all the shell was short in length, and too snug especially in the underarms. I'm a pretty lean guy, so it's more about the design that my body. I realize that this garment was designed for climbers, so that may disqualify my opinion, as my interest as a paddler was for something to wear when I get off the water. I'm still hoping to see something suitable come out of the Patagonia design lab."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byiceclimber14
Location: san anselmo, ça
March 15, 2014
I recommend this product for: Alpine Climbing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DO NOT STOP making this pullover
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"struggled to find the right size in the knifeblade jacket, between a medium and large, gave up and then took a chance on the pullover which is is sized differently. The medium fit almost perfectly(6'1" 180 lbs). probably the best jacket I have ever used for ice and alpine climbing. Breathes well, is virtually indestructible, has nothing extra and is virtually water and windproof. Barely even notice the jacket at all when climbing.Wore this jacket on
a recent trip to the Adirondacks with single digit temps and was comfortable while active with only a R1 underneath.No overheating while leading and easy to regulate temp through large front zip. I really hope that this knifeblade line continues because it blows away any other jacket (gore tex other soft shells) that I have used in the past.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted bybcarp
Location: Amesbury, MA
March 3, 2014
I recommend this product for: Alpine Climbing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best softshell I've ever owned.
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket is exactly what I've been looking for in a climbing jacket. The material is soft shell breathable and comfortable, burly against abuse, and still as waterproof as I will ever need (If it gets too wet for this jacket, I'm going down!!). The pullover is perfectly simple... no stupid pit zips or hand-warmer pockets. The hood fits just fine over my helmet. And I think the fit is great, despite what others have said, but I like a little room for flexibility with my layers. On a fall day rock climbing I might only have a merino t-shirt underneath, but on a cold day ice climbing in the whites I go with merino 3 crew, R1 hoody, nano pullover, and usually a couple pairs of gloves that I am thawing out. The simplicity of the jacket also means that there isn't much to go wrong with it, so I expect to have this jacket for many years."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byffbtx
March 1, 2014
I recommend this product for: Skiing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent soft shell!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I had the hardest time finding an appropriate layering combination for nordic skiing. Since I'm not a racer, the tights aren't going to keep me warm enough due to the power output that is required in racing situations. After a 20 km ride with this guy layered over a capilene 4 and an R2 mid-layer in 5 degree F weather with very strong winds, I don't think I am ever purchasing another soft-shell jacket again. This is just perfect. It kept me from the wind's path of harm, moisture was allowed to evaporate from my mid-layer and I was able to continue on for 4 hours without ever feeling cold or like I was over heating. THANK YOU to all of the Patagonia staff for putting up with my dozens of questions and my many returned items!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byKilgore
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
January 12, 2014
I recommend this product for: Skiing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Most excellent and small
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"I was v e r y disappointed when my two knife blade jackets arrived.
They were to small.
I'm a 46R, ordered XL...and they simply were to small.
Great jacket in appearance and design quality.
Patagonia, continues to have problems with consistent sizing in products.
"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byCOclimber
Location: Denver, CO
August 16, 2013
I recommend this product for: Alpine Climbing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Knifeblade pull-over review
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Ice climber and BC skier here. The fit is not slim. On all Patagonia jackets - a trip to the tailor is necessary to get the thing to fit correctly. I removed about 6" of waist girth on the XL with this jacket. Do you know anyone who climbs vertical ice that has a 38" waist or who has the same size waist as their chest? Apparently Patagonia fit models - lol. Once I got the jacket V-shaped to fit properly (Arc'teryx and Mammut fit right/slim out of the box) it's great. Its my go-to ice jacket. Bright colors (mango) are great for photos and for general visibility. It packs small for approaches and fits great (after alteration) under a harness. For me the hood fits fine even w/ a helmet. If it is super cold out, I will use a different soft-shell that is thicker and a bit warmer."
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byNWclimber
Location: Portland, OR
July 28, 2013
I recommend this product for: Alpine Climbing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Amazing alpine climb-specific piece
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I had the guide softshell and was totally unimpressed. When the velcro cuff failed I took it in and the associated encouraged me to return it if I wasn't happy with it. He mentioned there was a great alternative (the knifeblade) available online.
I ordered it and now LOVE my patagonia softshell. The lack of a full zipper and low pockets makes it comfortable to wear under my harness. The fit is very trim and technical but totally unrestrictive. Totally the opposite of the flabby, billowy guide jacket. Longer-than-normal arms to avoid the dreaded reach and pull of the sleeves. Sweet helmet & everything-compatible hood. Very happy."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted bycarrington
Location: corvallis,or
February 23, 2013
I recommend this product for: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
this works
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I plan on keeping this jacket, and I hope Patagonia
keeps the jacket too. I appreciate the high visibility color, the flexibility in design and fabric. This jacket has resistance to all of the elements, and allows me to remain active.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byNEClimber
January 10, 2013
I recommend this product for: Alpine Climbing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Softshell
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"Just took this on a trip to the White Mountains in December (cold and windy). The jacket was wonderful as it cut the wind spectacularly and breathed well when I would occasionally sweat. On the coldest day, it was in the low teens with ~30MPH winds and paired this jacket with an R1 and long-underwear. The long cut is great and the jacket tucks under a harness well and stays put.
My only complaint is that the hood is a little snug with a climbing helmet and this cause some mobility restriction. This required me to leave it slightly unzipped much of time. I can fully-zip the front if I need to, but at a cost."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byPublaw
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
December 31, 2012
I recommend this product for: Skiing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Light and fast backcountry skiing
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"In 25 years I have owned more Patagonia garments than I can count and this jacket is one of my favorites. For Inland Northwest and interior BC ski touring, it is hard to match the combination of protection and breathability found in this light and very packable jacket. Don’t be scared by the lack of pit-zips. I was skeptical of the true breathability but found on one long, strenuous and inhospitable February Selkirk traverse, with everything battened down, that I remained surprisingly dry inside all day despite the exertion. The fit is spot-on, sleeves are nice and long, torso is trim, hood fits superbly, pockets are perfectly placed for pack access, and hem adequately keeps out snow despite the lack of a skirt. I’m 6’1, 175 lbs, 40” chest, 34-35 sleeves, 32” waist, wear a medium, and have enough room for Cap 1, Cap 3, and R2 jacket or R2 vest for the tour if needed, and just barely a LW hooded down sweater for stops). My only complaint is the inability to connect the hem with a snow pant interface on really deep powder days but this is easily remedied with the addition of small snaps on the back hem if needed. You won’t be disappointedly with this clean, simple, high-performing anorak."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byblanchardhawk
Location: Arlington, WA
November 4, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Perhaps the perfect Northwest Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket hits the sweet spot between breathability and acceptable water resistance. In a climate where constant drizzle is the norm this jacket has kept me dry for hours on end, yet breathes remarkably well. It fits well under a pack and provides ample room for movement.
I found the fit to be consistent with all other Patagonia products. My only complaint is the Mango color stains easily. All in all a great jacket."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byflowstate
October 25, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Atrocious fit
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"I have looked forward to this jacket all my climbing career. I'm very glad that Patagonia have been brave enough to produce such a high quality jacket that will only appeal to a very narrow range of users.
I was, however, sorely disappointed when I received mine - There is no way this jacket could be described as a slim fit. The (normally fine) small swims on me. There is room for two of my torsos, or the beer belly I'll have when I can longer climb and appreciate this jacket.
I then got an extra small, which is still generous, though acceptable, in the belly yet too short/tight in the shoulders to be anything approximating comfortable.
Neither size allows sufficient head movement with a climbing helmet under the hood.
It would be easy to write me off as an odd sized person, but my several year old small Mixed Master fits superbly. I have many other well fitting climbing garments. So much for Chouinard's emphatic claims about sizing garments for their target audience. I can't think of a single person who would appreciate this style of jacket and fit it's cut.
I really wanted to love this jacket. Design and materials wise it sounds like the holy grail, at least as far as our current materials technology will allow. I can't get past the terrible fit though."
-2points
18out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted bylorimimy
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
July 23, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Urged by a friend to purchase this and have not been disappointed. Kept me dry but not sweaty, which is perfect for work. Rain, rain go away-not any more!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted bytheoldguy
Location: Kalamazoo Michigan
July 1, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very versatile
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"Bought the Knifeblade for the winter in Michigan although it wasn't much of a winter in "Michigander" terms. However, it rained and sleeted quite a bit with average temps usually hovering between high twenties to mid thirties. The Knifelbade's performance for me was truly exceptional. It breathes well and even though the cut is "slim" I was able to easily layer beneath with capilene3 and a Nanopuff pullover when necessary. If too warm I just threw a silkweight capilene on. The Knifeblade pullover is definitively the best softshell I've ever owned. I work outdoors and am exposed to every weather condition imaginable. The Knifeblade's breathability performed admirably even when temps reached as high as 62F with rain. As impressive to me is its no-nonsense "paired down" design which affords great freedom of movement without a lot of extra material hindering performance. Again, great piece Patagonia!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byTiminIdaho
Location: Twin Falls, Idaho
June 22, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I'm now spoiled
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"...because this is my first soft shell garment and it is perfect for me. Used it over this last winter for rock climbing, snowshoeing, hiking. Very breathable(and I should know, with how I sweat), tough(held up at City of Rocks), and for me, at least, the touchpoint system works quite well.
Probably the nicest workmanship of any technical garment I have ever purchased.
I guess I would sum it up by saying "I paid full price for this and it is worth every penny."
"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byt3hite
Location: Colorado
April 22, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nearly perfect
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"This jacket has the best balance of weight, weather protection and breathability I've ever found. It's my favorite winter shell for Colorado mountaineering. However, there are a couple of issues that keep it from getting a fifth star:
-the hood's a bit too tightly cut for free movement with my ski or climbing helmets
-the touchpoint drawcord adjustments slip in heavy winds but are difficult to release when you want to loosen the hood
Otherwise it's the best winter shell I've ever used. I'm hoping for a few tweaks in next years garment."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted bychiknight
April 17, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Fine Garment
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"A few years back I purchased the "Untracked Jacket" to replace an older Patagonia hardshell. Although it works well, the cut is a bit full for high winds. When I saw the Knifeblade I decided to do some research as I don't like to replace jackets unless the new model will make for significant improvement. I read the Patagonia reviews, talked to knowledgeable Patagonia service reps and decided to give the garment a try. Using it at Mount Washington, NH, allowed me to trial run all the features of the pullover except for the water resistance. Climbing a steep ravine with backpack, crampons and ice axe I was impressed by the breathability and easy venting through chest pockets and deep half zipper. Above the rim, in 40 to 55 mph winds and minus 15 windchill with blowing snow, I zipped up, snugged the hood and was again pleased with both the supple fabric and highly functional hood. One reviewer on the Patagonia site mentioned the hood released but I experienced no such issues. I look forward to using the piece for years as my go to top for winter hiking and mountaineering. The cut, the fabric function and the design features are all top flight. Thanks once again Patagonia."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted bySTWolf
Location: Boston area
April 14, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
love it
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"wow. what a great piece. very water resistant for a soft shell that is still quite breathable. great cut for climbing. fabric is really soft and quiet, and has a nice bit of stretch. the hood is huge and works well when you are actually wearing it over a helmet, but it is a lot of fabric flapping around back there when you are not. Unavoidable i guess... Best climbing jacket I've ever used. Overall highly recommended."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byBazehead
Location: Calgary, Canada
December 5, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Great ... BUT, Touchpoint System doesn't work!
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
"I just bought this jacket. The fit is great, its very breathable, almost waterproof, and highly wind resistance. The one BIG complaint I have is that the Touchpoint System doesn't work on the hood. It works fine at the waist, but on the hood it releases almost instantly (when you don't want it to) with the slightest tension.
I thought I bought a dud, but went back to the shop and checked the others they had in stock - they all had the same problem. So, buyer beware, this jacket is near perfect BUT with this significant flaw.
It makes me wonder... did Colin Haley, Steve House, and the rest of the testers not try this new feature or was there a manufacturing flaw on the final version?"
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M's Knifeblade Pullover
Posted byDylan
Location: Bundoran, Ireland
October 12, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Slicked Down Comfort
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"It is light, breathable and yes, watertight. I have it on over my down sweater when on surf expeditions here in Donegal, Ireland. Perfect here for the extreme rain and damp that comes along with being outdoors in this part of the world. At the end of the day I'm still dry and comfortable, feeling guilty for it because all the guys have their Surf Company made gear and it just does not work like my Patagonia Knifeblade. A little hard to get into and out when wearing layers because of that half zip."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>