Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Torrentshell Pants

Pared-down and packable, Torrentshell Pants offer H2No® Performance Standard 2.5-layer nylon waterproof/breathable protection for seriously wet weather.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Torrentshell Pants
Review 1 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted bySGTFURY
Location: Houston, Texas
September 2, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Outstanding
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Have had these 4 about month now and am using for summer swimming. Will throw on me over my wet bathing suit to run indoors, etc.
will also use in winter and now i want the Torrentshell Jacket
Very functional... "
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byDoron
August 25, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A little gem
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These pants offer very few bells and whistles, yet overall they are nothing short of spectacular. I wore them over my denims while riding my motorcycle through a severe rain storm for over 25 minutes; the rain came so hard cars were parked at the side of the road for shelter. Yet through this entire ordeal my jeans (and me underneath) remained dry as a bone -- I didn't even "know" it was raining so hard. They weigh close to nothing; they occupy almost no space; they are a breeze to put on or take off (one of the few, amazing, "bells"); and they look great after being "crunched" for days in your pack. In all, they are nothing short of a gem. "
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted bySLORower
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
June 25, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Waterproof Pants
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" Please see my review of the M Torrentshell Jacket for additional information. These pants are just right for fast walks in cold, windy, and wet conditions. The design and cut of the fabric allows walking uphill with no limitations. Bottom Line: Functional pants that look great. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byFishndrift
Location: Victor, ID
May 4, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
GREAT PANTS!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I love these pants! They do everything they are designed to do. I also have a Torrentshell Jacket, when I am wearing them together all I can say is "Whocares? Let it rain!" We have some weather here in the Tetons. I keep both these pieces with me all the time, they pack small and stay in my driftboat, truck, or pack. Where ever I go, they go! They are a permanent part of my essential layers collection. I am 5'10", 34"waist, 215 lbs. and size Large is a perfect fit for me, with fleece under them you won't believe how comfortable you will be when the weather gets nasty. "
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted bycaptainrobear
Location: Savannah GA
January 28, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
torrentshell pullover and pants
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I really like both items, they really keep me dry in the boat and are excellent as a wind and saltwater barrier. I highly recommend them "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byAKGuide
August 5, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Rain Pants
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" I've owned many rain pants and these are one of the best! They are durable, light weight, take up very little space in your pack, are comfortable to wear and most importantly keep you dry.
I like having pockets in my rain pants which is another reason I bought the Torrentshell pant. I added a cord-lock to the draw string waist for easy of use.
My normal size is a medium, but I bought these in a large since I usually put them on over another pair of pants and I'm happy with the fit. "
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byOceanT
Location: Jackson Hole, WY
April 1, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Super Functional, but run small
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These pants are perfect with the Torrentshell Pullover, compact and lightweight and easy to roll up in case a shower comes through or the temperature drops. They're clean and simple, which I love. Very easy to move in. The diameter of the legs was small for me through the thighs, so I ordered a size up and they're very comfortable. "
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byouthere
Location: Viola, ID
October 29, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Torrentshel Pants
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
" These pants are 4-time all-around champs; lightweight, breathable, waterproof and a great value. I purchased these pants to replace my old ones because I was getting wetter from sweating than from the rain. I have been thoroughly impressed with these pants, especially the breathability after numerous (wet) bike rides and a week-long backpacking trip in the olympic penninsula. Despite the low price, these pants have great features like zipper hand pockets and 1/4 zip legs with velcro closures. "
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byColinHaley
Location: Mercer Island, WA
May 2, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Lightweight hard-shell pants for bad weather
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" These pants are lightweight and offer full-on protection against strong wind and precipitation. I sometimes hike the approach in just my Cap 4 bottoms, and then put these on when I get up into the alpine. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byFlybbergasted
Location: Jacksonville, FL
February 8, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
" Bought the pants for keeping on my skiff for wet and blustery days. Do well for blocking the wind and water...but don't provide much durability against a wayward hook. The straight leg (as opposed to the Rainshadow Pants elasticized cuffs) are much more comfortable, and the pockets are a nice feature. "
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted byAnonymous
Location: Berkeley, CA
January 7, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Beware of sizing
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" These pants are *NOT* sized to fit over another pair of pants.
If you intend to wear these pants on top of another layer (e.g. for bicycle commuting), I would recommend ordering one size larger than your normal pant size.
I have a 32-inch waist and just sent back the medium size Torrentshell pants because they were too tight. I'm hoping the large size will work better. "
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M's Torrentshell Pants
Posted bykanishka
Location: dover, nh
October 2, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
ok, waterproofing wears off
Overall Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5 stars
" had these for about 6 months. the waterproofing is already wearing off. used it about 12 times in that span, for 1-2 hours each in medium to heavy rain. i expected these to last at least 1-2 years until waterproofing would wear off.
overall, a little hot, not breathable enough. often sweating inside them in moderate to cool temps. don't even think about using them above 80 degrees outside.
probably worth the cost, but i guess i should have bought one level higher in quality "
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for M's Torrentshell Pants
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
Would recommend? Yes 2 of 2stars