Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Patagonia.

M's Winter Guide Jacket

A warm, fully fleece-lined hooded soft shell providing mobility, windproof weather-resistance and breathability to alpine climbers and skiers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)recommend this product
Customer Reviews for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Review 1 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byAdam
Location: Denver, CO
April 29, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great jacket... except for one detail
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"The jacket handles most of the foul weather I encounter in Colorado just fine. It is great for anything but a downpour. I find the fit to be great all around.
My only beef is the hood adjustment. If you are not wearing a helmet, the hood sometimes falls over your eyes. There is no "top" adjustment for the hood."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byTalus
March 28, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Great Idea, but missing essential design.
Overall Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5 stars
"A well put together jacket that would be great except for one killer flaw which renders the jacket to be usless for any cold out door activity. The flaw is that the armpits are cut too small in diameter such that when you wear a medium to heavy fleece top it binds quite substantially. My North face jackets all are very generous in their cut beneath the arm pit area which is essential for strenuous activity. (It rubs the heck out of you when you move your arms alot; skiing, ice climbing etc) If this patagonia jacket were to be redesigned it would be a killer jacket. I still wear the jacket as spring jacket w/o wearing fleece beneath."
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byCSmith19
February 14, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I live in NYC and this jacket is great for the crazy wind, sudden rain and wet snow we get here. It regulates temp so well... it keeps me comfortable no matter what the weather. I haven't skied in it yet, but I imagine it will be great because it breathes so well while keeping the wind out! The stretchy material and the cut of the jacket make it limitless in it's mobility. I definitely recommend it!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted bywns1
February 12, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Warm and Dry!
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I've been a huge fan of the Miixed Master jacket/pants and was disappointed if not moderately panicked to see them go away, however, this latest evolution of the concept is an improvement in most every way. The material is fantastic, the stretch is great and remarkably water resistant. I'm not through a season in it but it shows no signs of seam / zipper / material failure. I found the level of insulation to be ideal for climbing in miserably cold temps. I appreciate that this is subjective and opens a huge can of worms but my experience puts the insulation in the ideal middle ground between barely insulated and sweat box. This is a single digits secret weapon. The cuffs are great, no bulk and they stay closed. Patagonia has the hood and helmet relationship figured out! I'm not proud of my behavior but I am guilty of tantrums around "climbing jackets" with hoods that were clearly designed with little thought towards the user wearing a helmet. This jacket is pure hood / helmet bliss. The pockets are great, accessible above pack straps and a harness.
Fit. This is my only real issue. I prefer the leaner cut of the Mixed Master. I can appreciate that this may have made it a difficult sale at times but the zero bulk fit was nice. This jacket is not excessive, just notably more relaxed in the torso. I do, though, think that the new cut makes this a more versatile jacket ...easier to ski in, layer beneath, etc. Regarding versatility, I consider this a second jacket and use it for ice cragging on cold, cold New England days. In most cases I would still opt for an uninsulated shell for multi day endeavors or as my "one" jacket. That said, this jacket doesn't spend much time in the closet....
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted bybluewavechris
January 23, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Utility Jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket has fast become my favorite utility jacket. It handles pretty much anything the weather can throw at me, has been reasonably durable and is cut to fit properly, without being too oversized.
I like attached hoods, so this has been better for me than jackets without hoods.
If you spend a lot of time outside, this is the right jacket for you."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byJamesX
January 8, 2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
AWESOME
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket is great! The pockets are huge. They have watertight zippers with pulls that are perfectly placed for easy opening and closing. The fabric is totally waterproof. I did my 11 minute walk from the parking lot to my building a few days ago (I work at a university) in a torrential downpour and came out dry as a bone. The hood works great as well, with 2 easily accessed and operated pulls. The fit is great and the fabric stretches allowing for unrestricted movement. The fleece liner is super comfy and warm, but this jacket can be worn on warmer days as well. It's designed very well, I can't say enough.
-Jim
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byAnonymous
December 30, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Winter Guide Jacket
Overall Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5 stars
"This jacket performs up to the demanding conditions of field work. Comfortable, warm, and dry. Fits a little larger than I thought. I probably should have gone with a small instead of a medium."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byBigDawg
December 15, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great jacket
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"works great both on trail and in the backcountry. offers great breathability as well as protection from mother natures' fury."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted bymountainboy
November 23, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
super kool
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jacket has great big pockets you can stuff gloves and anything else you might need.. the hood is way big on me -but soft enough on your skin anyway. the jacket is super windproof. Tested in New england ..."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byHeavyD
October 30, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heater and AC in one
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"This jackets always fits the tempurature! When it warms up, the Winter Guide Jacket breathes deep, and keeps me cool, when it cools off, the fleecey softness keeps me warm. Water beads like a fresh coat of wax on my truck!"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M's Winter Guide Jacket
Posted byordoabchao
August 16, 2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fantastic cold weather climbing jacket.
Overall Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5 stars
"I have worn this jacket and the older, Mixed Master Jacket, on numerous winter ice and alpine climbs. It is just about the perfect piece for winter alpine pursuits as it has a very trim cut with ample stretch, yet the fleece lining keeps you warm. it does a very good job getting the moisture away from your body and out of the jacket. While it can be a little warm on longer pitches, it makes up for it in the warmth you feel while sitting at a marathonn belay session waiting your turn to climb again. I am also very impressed with how well it sheds water. I have climbed under water that is just pouring down from ice roues and managed to stay completely dry inside. The lined hood is especially nice and taking it on and off is an easy way to regulate temperature. It is a must have for Canadian ice and Alaskan alpine adventures.
Excellent design and well made!
"
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.